Baseball Writers Announce Award Winners

The South Florida Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) announced their annual Florida Marlins award winners today. The Most Valuable Player is outfielder Preston Wilson (six votes). The Rookie of the Year is pitcher Chuck Smith (eight votes). The Most Improved Marlin is first baseman Derrek Lee (six votes). The “Charlie Hough” Good Guy Award is given to the member of the Marlins who fosters the most positive relations with the media. The winner of this year’s award is Marlins third baseman Mike Lowell (five votes). Nine members of the South Florida Chapter of the BBWAA voted for this year’s awards. The results of the voting were announced by the president of the BBWAA South Florida Chapter David O’Brien.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *