Andre Dawson Elected to the Hall of Fame

Andre Dawson has finally been elected to the baseball Hall of Fame.

“The Hawk”, who finished out his career with the marlins in 1995 and 1996 and is currently a member of the Marlins front office is a former NL MVP and ROY. He was an eight-time all star, retired with 438 home runs and 1,591 RBI.

A Miami native, Dawson becomes the first Marlins player inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Update: Dawson received 77.9% of the vote.

Where Are They Now: Eric Ludwick

Lost in an article about Ed O’Bannon selling cars is that one of his co-workers is none other than former Marlin Eric Ludwick.

Early on, O’Bannon was befriended by a soft-spoken Findlay salesman named Eric Ludwick, who could understand his pain like few others. Ludwick, who had been at Findlay for two years when O’Bannon showed up, was a former UNLV pitcher who spent parts of four seasons in the major leagues. Like O’Bannon, he entered pro ball as a phenom — he was a second-round draft pick in 1993 and was once traded for Mark McGwire — and like O’Bannon, he had been forced to go overseas, in his case to Japan, to make a living after flaming out in the United States.

Don’t remember Ludwick? He was one of many players to cycle through the organization in the post 1997 World Series fire sale (he was acquired in exchange for Kurt Abbott). His brother Ryan Ludwick has turned out to be a good ball player.

You can read more about him in our 1998 posts here.

Niner Joins Marlins’ Front Office

Jeff Conine was hired by the Florida Marlins to serve as a Special Assistant to the Team President. Like Andre Dawson and Tony Perez, who also hold this role, Niner will work on-field, in community relations and in the broadcast booth. No word on whether he will get to wear a uniform before games and which number will be on that uniform (18 or 19).

Where Are They Now: Mantei and Kotsay Find New Homes

Dave Dombrowski continues his quest to build the Detroit Marlins by adding the iceman Matt Mantei to the Tigers. Mantei was a fan favorite but in reality was highly overrated and injury prone. Thankfully, the Diamondbacks didn’t realize that and gave us Brad Penny for him back in 1999.

Not joining the Tigers is Mark Kotsay who may be on the verge of leaving Oakland for Atlanta. The media keeps laughing at the Fish for trading everyone away, but doesn’t seem to care when Oakland does the same (Billy Beane is a genius! Yeah right).

P.S. — If you have a better name to describe the Marlin-ized Detroit Tigers, please email us.

In Case You Wondered: The Marlins Proposed the Trade

We’ve all wondered how the trade happens and in this Detroit-loving article by Jason Stark, we discover that after the Tigers rejected the Marlins’ Cabrera for Miller and Maybin offer, the Marlins came back with the 8 player lineup (meaning: included Dontrelle) and Detroit said yes.

Also, the Marlins wanted Mike Rabelo because bench coach Carlos Tosca had managed him before and liked him.

Oh, and one bit of commentary. Trading away your entire minor league system and spending millions on free agents doesn’t make your GM a genius. For every good GM like Dave Dombrowski there is an incompetent GM like Omar Minaya.

Robb Nen on Hall of Fame Ballot

National Baseball Hall of FameRobb Nen is one of several players to debut on the Baseball Hall of Fame ballot. He joins another former Fish Andre Dawson and Tim Raines, on the list. If Nen gets voted in, he would represent the first real Marlin to make it in as he spent 5 of his 10 seasons with the Fish and won his only World Series in 1997. Also, it was the Marlins who converted him into a closer.

Results will be announced on January 8, 2008. Here is the full list of players on the ballot

  • Brady Anderson
  • Harold Baines
  • Rod Beck
  • Bert Blyleven
  • Dave Concepcion
  • Andre Dawson
  • Shawon Dunston
  • Chuck Finley
  • Travis Fryman
  • Rich “Goose” Gossage
  • Tommy John
  • David Justice
  • Chuck Knoblauch
  • Don Mattingly
  • Mark McGwire
  • Jack Morris
  • Dale Murphy
  • Robb Nen
  • Dave Parker
  • Tim Raines
  • Jim Rice
  • Jose Rijo
  • Lee Smith
  • Todd Stottlemyre
  • Alan Trammell